As the Smoke Clears

I was touched to see that a few folks are still subscribed to my measly little blog. I’ve missed it. I have a non-anonymous blog but feel that I can’t share anything even slightly personal as my family and everyone I work with has the URL. You understand.

Everyone that commented just wanted to know what’s been going on in my personal life. Let’s see…

  • I’m engaged! M. asked me to marry him in April with a diamond ring made by the same jeweler that handcrafted his mother’s engagement and wedding bands. We cried a lot of happy tears. No date is set yet, as we’ll be paying for it without help from either families.
  • We got a dog! She has been expensive but worth it.
  • We moved to a new city! We’re working the same jobs and commuting 40 minutes or so. I’m ready to look for a new position closer to home– not because of the drive but because I’m not feeling challenged anymore. I don’t fully believe in our company’s new mission and I want to be paid to be creative and currently I just put out fires.
  • M. and I combined our finances in May and we now share his debt. Currently: -$18,323.63, more than half of which is money he owes to his parents for a former vehicle. I’m the CFO in this relationship and we will be tackling the pay off aggressively, even if that means prolonging the wedding day. I’ll be adding a chart to the side bar of the blog to keep me accountable.
  • My mom finally filed for a divorce. Their litigation is in a few days and I’m dreading it with every bone in my body. My relationship with her has become very strained and uncomfortable. My dad’s health is poor, he works sixty hours a week and can’t afford the mortgage my mom left him saddled with when she left over a year ago. The financial mess / entire lack of savings they are in is both of their faults but they continue to not communicate or plan. It makes me crazy.
  • I’m still sober! It’s easy most days. Some nights and weekends have their challenges but for the most part I wouldn’t trade it for anything. My life is so much better without booze in it.
  • I’ve fallen off the workout wagon but lost five pounds. I’m still kind of fighting my way out of a depressive episode that had its grip on me for most of the summer and fall. Our new building boasts a wonderful gym on the first floor, I just need to start utilizing it. That said, I have been walking about five miles per day just between work travel, dog walks and foot errands.

I’m so relieved to be writing here again.

23 thoughts on “As the Smoke Clears

  1. Congratulations on the engagement! Beware, EVERYONE will share their thoughts and opinions and “helpful advice” and constantly ask you questions. But hooray!
    What kind of dog? Do we get to see pictures of said pup?
    My fiance and I still haven’t actually combined finances, but we’re trying to figure out how to do that going into our marriage. Was it easy, or tricky?

    Sorry about the sad things :( But we’re here for you!

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you’re back! I’m sorry to hear about the negative stuff going on in your life right now, but it sounds like the good is overshadowing it. You deserve it! Congratulations on getting engaged!

  3. Congratulations on your engagement!!! :D I too am interested in hearing a little more about your new dog. I’m sorry to hear that things still suck on the parental front, but fortunately it sounds like there are lots of positives to draw from in the rest of your life :)

  4. Ahhh congratulations on your engagement!!!!!!! So glad to hear that things are going well for you – proud of you for staying sober, so excited that you got a new dog (deets please), and would like to hear more about life..love that you combined finances. I’ll be doing that w/ the BF once we get married!

    So glad u are well :)

put in your two cents

